Ratified & Adopted April 12, 2016

Article I – Name & Location

  1. The name of this organization is Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Faculty and Staff Association (LGBTQ-FSA) of University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC).
  2. This organization is located at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC).

Article II – Mission

The mission of the LGBTQ-FSA is to advocate and support opportunities for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer faculty, staff and students at UMBC.  This broad goal encompasses the following specific aims:

  1. Represent and advocate for LGBTQ faculty and staff visibility and concerns at the departmental, college, administrative, shared governance, and policy levels at UMBC.
  2. Represent LGBTQ visibility and UMBC diversity to the larger community
  3. Promote reflection of LGBTQ experiences university-wide through the curriculum.
  4. Advance recruitment, retention and promotion of LGBTQ faculty and staff.
  5. Aid in recruitment, retention and graduation rates of LGBTQ students
  6. Provide advocacy and support for the LGBTQ student experience at UMBC.

Article III – Membership & Meetings

  1. Membership is open to current UMBC full-time faculty and staff.
  2. Members shall be self-identified as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or other identity-terms deemed directly related by the membership.
  3. Membership is indicated by joining the myUMBC LGBTQ-FSA group.
  4. All members shall have a vote and all votes shall be equal (one member-one vote).
  5. A Faculty Subcommittee shall be made up of full-time faculty members of the LGBTQ-FSA
  6. A Staff Subcommittee shall be made up of full-time staff members of the LGBTQ-FSA
  7. All subcommittee members shall have a vote on their own subcommittee (one member-one vote).
  8. Any subcommittee vote (other than officer elections) will be brought to the entire LGBTQ-FSA for consensus approval, or if contested, confirmatory majority vote.
  9. Regular meetings shall take place bi-monthly, at pre-accorded times.

Article IV – Governance and officers

  1. All votes will be by simple majority. Secret ballots will be used upon request by any member and in regular elections.
  2. Proxy votes will be accepted only for elections and items that have been announced in the agenda.
  3. Regular elections will take place every two years.
  4. Quorum (at least two thirds of the members or subcommittee members (bottom rounding)) will be required only for elections and changes to the bylaws.
  5. The elected officers shall be a President, one subcommittee chair from Faculty and one from Staff.
  6. Only subcommittee members may vote for their subcommittee chair.
  7. The Executive Board will be composed of the president and the two subcommittee chairs.
  8. The Executive Board will act on behalf of the LGBTQ-FSA to fulfill the mission outlined in Article II.
  9. The Executive Board will be in charge of setting the agenda, with contributions from all LGBTQ-FSA members, and generating the minutes for LGBTQ-FSA meetings.